Making The Complicated Simple

pastries - boule

Sugar Addiction Part I

Back in the days when most of our food were really organic, we ate sugar that were found in natural food.  Sugar wasn’t a problem then.  Today more than 1/2 of the calories we consume comes from sugar, white flour and tones of other ingredients that we can hardly pronounce.  The kind of food that we are having today is extremely high in sugar, not satisfying, makes us crash and leaves us craving for more while increasing our waistline.

On your journey to a healthy lifestyle it is important to acknowledge your barriers, especially self-imposed barriers like sugar that is responsible for constant self-sabotaging and yo-yo dieting.  To take down the sugar barrier or even seek professional help, you need to understand the different ways you are addicted to it.  Today I will be discussing part-1 of a 3 part series on sugar addiction.

What Does Sugar Addiction Feel Like (Part I)?

Do you know when you eat sugar the most? My sugar list consisted of bread, chocolate mousse cake, mini ice cream servings with apple pie, pastries and hot cocoa loaded with sugar.  This abusive relationship started in college. I was working full-time and going to school at the same time and there wasn’t enough hours during the day for me to complete any task.    I had such a laser like focus on pursuing my goals that most of the time eating wasn’t a priority.

When I ate something it was  pretty much any free food that was available at work or on campus which meant: pizza, doughnuts, cookies, pastries, pasta and bread loaded with butter.  I was always on the run so it was difficult for me to stick to  regular exercise schedule.  When I lacked energy I would load up on Mountain Dew and energy drinks.   With my waistline catching up with my bad habits, when I decided to go on a diet, I would spend a week or 2 on track.  The moment I felt stressed I would eat something sweet, and since I already messed up my diet anyways, it was open season to eat any other sweets I missed the past 2 weeks before starting my plan again on Monday of next week.   This pattern was exhausting emotionally and physically.

I began discussing this pattern with friends and other moms to conclude that some of the people who are addicted to sugar are

  • Stay-at-home moms
  • highly competitive workaholics
  • women juggling school, work and family
  • women who travel a lot for work

Solution (Part I)

Now that I was aware of the pattern, I did some reading on the topic and took a whole-body approach to kick the habit out.  Here are the changes I made

  • Eliminate energy drinks
  • Switch sugar-loaded hot cocoa with water
  • Get at least 7 hours of sleep (which took care of the lack of energy problem)
  • Eat whole foods
  • Indulge in 1 small piece of dark chocolate or pastry that I like once a week.  When I discovered Isagenix Isadelight Plus, I was partying to have 1 every day (that’s really all you need especially if you eat wholefoods all day and don’t skip meals)
  • Regular exercise
  • Drinking a lot of water. I drink  at least 1 gallon a day

Your assignment today is to take some time to think about the sugary food that are triggers  for you.  Make a list and think about when you mostly eat them.  If you have them around the house get rid of them (NO EXCUSES ESPECIALLY NOT THE KIDS), replace them with healthy snacks and resolve to create time to prepare balance meals, exercise and get enough sleep.  Being a workaholic doesn’t pay if you are accumulating a fortune to pay doctors in the future to get your health back.  START NOW…

Leave a Reply

