Making The Complicated Simple

Spaghetti squash, part of the winter squash family, is an oval fruit with yellowish skin, on the inside the stranded flesh looks like spaghetti. This fruit is

  • low in cholesterol
  • low in fat
  • excellent source of dietary fiber
  • vitamins B6 and C

Spaghetti squash is healthy and its versatility makes it a great substitute for regular pasta.  Comparing spaghetti squash with whole wheat pasta you can save a few calories and carbs eating spaghetti squash.

  • 1 cup of cooked spaghetti squash has: 41 calories, 0g of fat, and 10 g of carbohydrates,.
  • 1 cup of cooked whole wheat pasta has: 174 calories, 0.8 g of fat, and 37.2 g of carbohydrates.

Today SimpleChef brings you  “Spaghetti Squash with Black Pepper Baked Chicken”.

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash
  • Trader Joe’s Black Pepper Sauce
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast
  • 1 (1-gallon) ziplock bag
  • Mrs. Dash original seasoning
  • Olive oil cooking spray

Step 1:  Preheat oven at 375 degrees. Place the chicken breast inside the ziplock bags with 2 tbsp of Trader Joe’s black pepper sauce (you can add more to make it hot and spicy to taste). Set aside in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Meat Preparation Tip: When I come from the grocery store, I don’t put my meat in the freezer in its original packaging.  I season it and put it in a ziplock freezer bag, then I put it in the freezer.  The longer it stays in the marinade the better it taste.

Step 2: Cut the spaghetti squash in half. Remove the seeds and spray each side with olive oil cooking spray. Sprinkle a dash of Mrs. dash and cook face down on aluminum and set aside to bake

Step 3: Place chicken on bottom oven rack over aluminum foil (I use those a lot because I do not like cleaning dishes 🙂   ) Place squash on top oven  rack facing down on aluminum foil.  Let everything bake for 45 minutes.

Use a fork to scrape the spaghetti squash and get rid of the skin

Et  Voila le poulet!

Comments on: "Guilt Free Spaghetti & Black Pepper Chicken" (5)

  1. Monique R. said:

    Wow! I’ve don’t know what rock I have been living under but I’ve never heard of spaghetti squash. I must give this recipe a try. Thanks!

    • lol Monique, I started eating it myself this year. It’s really a great substitute and fills you up. Let me know how it works. I buy the organic ones because they taste better.

  2. sounds wonderful, I’m going to investigate the ingredients and try this one, thanks

  3. Thanks for the visual picture of how to cook the squash. I was having a hard time with this.

Leave a Reply

