Making The Complicated Simple

You Deserve It

It’s time to say goodbye to 2010. Time to take the annual self-inventory and hopefully it displays a decrease in faults and increase in virtues. For me the year was like a rollercoaster.  Divine power, an amazing family and great friends kept me smiling, gave me a shoulder to cry and told me “I believe in you” when I needed to hear it.   No matter how 2010 was, fortunately you get to start with a clean slate on January 1, 2011.  Yes you can, and you deserve it.   But do YOU believe it?

On of my favorite verses that I memorized is in Matthew 17:20

Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed …….. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

The size of a mustard seed that’s how big your faith needs to be to get you going.  It’s not enough to say you have faith, just like anything else you practice over and over to be super good at it, you must also practice your faith, positive thinking, positive speaking and weed out the negative, always.  FEAR (False Evidence Appearing Real) may have kept 2010 from being you best year ever but FAITH (Fantastic Adventures In Trusting Him) is more powerful.

In the spirit of this wonderful year we are about to start, here is my recipe to making 2011 your best year ever.

  1. Change yourself from the inside out. It is believed that it takes 21 days to form new habits. From  January 1 to January 21, take at least 30 minutes when you wake up and 30 minutes before you go to bed to feed your mind with positive thoughts, read something motivating, pray, practice visualizing your dreams and take time to be still and just enjoy the silence.  I love to read pretty much anything and I recently skimmed through this book and I think there is a lot of good things to get out of it, it kind of puts you on a schedule and gives you an idea of where to start on the inside.  Check it outhttp://www.amazon.com/21-Day-Consciousness-Cleanse-Breakthrough-Connecting/dp/0061783692/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1293763971&sr=1-1There is even a free summary of the book if you are on a budget:

    http://www.oprah.com/spirit/Get-Started-Take-Debbie-Fords-21-Day-Consciousness-Cleanse

  2. Let go of past hurts, frustrations and especially forgive.  Carrying those emotions around is like being in the middle of the ocean with 50lbs around your ankle while you are waiting to be rescued (good luck with that!)There is always a blessing in disguise.  Some people were removed from your life to protect you or prepare you for better meaningful relationships.If 2010 was like hitting rock bottom for you,  Congratulations! Because once you get there, there is no other option but to go back up. You know the feeling of losing everything, nothing working like you expected, and you are basically left with nothing right?  If you change your thoughts during those trying times, you can actually start something new, fearless.  You’ve lost everything, you’ve hit rock bottom, and there is nothing else to lose so you might as well try something new.  The worst thing that could happen is you breaking even. One of my all time favorite books on going for what you want and facing challenges is “The Alchemist” by Paulo Cauelho.  You will love this bookhttp://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0062024329/ref=s9_newr_gw_ir02?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-3&pf_rd_r=0ERZVDEC16SZP49HJ6QN&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=470938811&pf_rd_i=507846
  3. Set goals, set goals, set goals with a completion date.  One of my mentors and role models, Zig Ziglar created this “Perfomance Planner”.  It is simple and helps you set your goals with date the simple way.  You don’t have a big manual to read, it is straight to the point.  I bought one 6 years ago and I was just putting dreams in there just to let my mind “run with the wind..”.  I picked it up the other day to find out that 6 of those dreams I wrote down, I actually made happen.  So write it down and put a date on it.  Break down those goals in 1, 3, 5 and 10 years and the short-term ones break them down to months even days.  Here is an example: when I am preparing for a fitness competition, I write down my budget for everything: suit (I get the price in advance, fabric and all), registration, airfare, hotel fare, food budget, supplements, massages, waxing, etc….  I add it up and chose a date to have the funds for everything.  I take the total divide it by the number of days I have until my completion date and figure out how much money I need to put aside everyday to be able to do this show.  You would be surprised to find out with advanced planning it comes down to what you spend for Starbucks coffee or lunch everyday. You may start with “how in the world am I going to come up with $800” and end up with “$5 a day is very possible”.  Use the same approach for all your goals and simplify your life.  Knowing what it will take to make this dream come true every day makes it real and keeps you accountable.  Here is where you can order this amazing performance planner:http://www.ziglar.com/shop/product_info.php/cPath/21/products_id/63
  4. Whatever you do everyday, like mentor Jim Rohn says “ leave everything better than it was” including yourself.

Believe it, see it, smell it, touch it.  My 3-year-old son, Horizon, reminds me of this every day, how?  He is so daring, he tries everything, he smiles a lot, he is not afraid of anything, except for the 9 o’clock fly that comes out if he doesn’t get ready for bed at night… lol  Every morning he wakes up and says “mommy today is going to be a beautiful sunny day, and I am very very Happy”.  He is so much like my husband.  I smile at his innocence; I smile at how easy he sees life.  He reminds me to approach things with the heart of a child who believes it will happen and everything will be OK….

Until next time, spread the love and a very happy happy new year to all of you…. After all YOU deserve it because YOU  are a “Champion”.

Leave a Reply

