Making The Complicated Simple

Today’s inspiration is a special guest. A down to earth, amazing, super funny, supermom.  I call her supermom because this woman manages to look so amazing with a very very CRAZY schedule.   Ty is one of the most genuine person that I know, she is loving, caring and what you see is what you get.  Read her story and let her inspire you as you prepare for HealthMC Day: 6 “Who’s on Your Team”

Read Ty’s own words

From the time I could remember, I’ve always wanted to live abundantly healthy.  I’ve always believed without your health you have NOTHING!  I think one of the hardest things about losing weight is admitting your own part in being overweight in the first place.  We are always quick to blame someone else for making us fat.  I use to blame “getting old” as the reason.  Huh…whatever!  I am in full control of what I put into my mouth EVERYDAY.  It is a choice, and every single day I have the choice to feed my body the best nutrition possible.

After twenty years of yo-yo dieting and life “getting in the way,” I set out on the journey of a lifetime.  In January of 2008, at age 42, I found myself unhappy, unhealthy and ready for a change.  In my heart I was ready, but with my extremely hectic lifestyle, I knew it wouldn’t be easy.  Eating nutritious “clean” meals takes lots of preparation and my time was already limited!  But living a healthier life was important to me and I had to make the time!   I needed a lot of faith, discipline and determination if I wanted to start LIVING and not just EXISTING.  At the end of the day, it’s about BELIEVING in yourself.  Knowing in your heart, that you are WORTHY!

After months of “clean eating” and resistance training, my body changed drastically.  I stayed committed, focused and determined to prove to myself that this time, I WOULD NOT QUIT like I had so many times before!  Quitting just made me a failure once again, and this time I truly wanted to reach my goals and WIN!  It would be more painful if I didn’t. After initially losing 30 pounds, I still wanted more!  Not to be “skinny”, but really wanting to sculpt my physique.  So, I challenged myself by entering a bikini competition.  Training and dieting for a competition was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, but the reward was wonderful!  Even with my long days and hectic lifestyle, I managed to stay committed.  For over 25 yrs. I’ve wanted to compete and there was no greater feeling than to do it at 44 yrs. old and to top it off, win third place!!  The feeling was AMAZING!  Even if I hadn’t placed, I still would have WON!  No trophy will ever validate my triumph!


Living a healthy, fit lifestyle isn’t easy, but it can be a lot easier if you plan, prepare and make yourself open to change.  Embrace new challenges and experiences so that you may grow.  Continue to believe in yourself and trust the process.  When I realized this was not simply about the number on the scale, but it was a LIFESTYLE change; I knew that I had finally figured it out, great things were yet to come and that I had finally arrived!


For all the women who think “40 something” is too old to start living healthy and fit, think again!  If you’re sitting there allowing yourself to think “it’s too hard”, “I can’t” or  “I’m a failure”…DON’T!  Don’t quit or give up.  If today is the day you were going to leave, quit or give up, postpone that decision another day.  Commit to taking care of YOU today.  When you get up tomorrow, praise yourself for making it one more day.  I hope that I can inspire you to find your inner and outer glow in the process.  Even on your toughest days…CLAIM YOU VICTORY!  YOU DESERVE IT!

To your every success,

Fitfully yours,

Tyneshia “Ty” Royal

Today’s Recipe is simple and quick “Quinoa Shrimp Salad”

Ultimate Blog Party 2011

Comments on: "Day 5: HealthMC “A Busy Mom’s Success Story”" (14)

  1. Stopping by from the UBP! Great to meet you! That is one heck of a success story, and quite the inspiration!

    http://www.lisavsfitness.blogspot.com

  2. Ok, I am officially inspired to cease the extended break from working out.

  3. Great post! Very motivating!! I’m “pushing” 40 and I’ve been saying I need to get into shape for years. Came from the SITS comment hour.

  4. I am currently doing P90X, and it *does* feel awesome to be succeeding at something for myself :) Congrats on healthy living!

  5. Ok I am inspired! After comment hour I am getting off my behind stat!

  6. Awesome! I just read a book about clean eating. It definitely leads to a much healthier lifestyle.

    #commenthour

  7. Great for getting in shape – been on my list for 15 years now

    #commenthour
    @eileenludwig

  8. Okay I am inspired…I need to not quit this time! I am in the yo yo dieting stage..and now Im going to try and stick to it! and I have all those clean eating books and mags and p90x man I need to get the ball rolling here!
    Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. We LOVE your blog! we are Thrilled to say we are your newest followers and {blog} friends! my sister and I just created a blog and would LOVE for you to come take a peek and let us know what you think. Don’t forget to follow us and become our newest {blog} friends as well;)
    trulie-scrumptious.blogspot.com
    mitchandroz.blogspot.com (family blog)

  10. Visiting from SITS commenthour! I remember your blog from before. Inspiring as usual!!

  11. Stopping by from #CommentHour – Great post! Incredibly inspiring.

  12. Still trying to catch up from last nights #SITS comment hr.

    Very inspirational. I turned 43 last month and my new year’s resolution was to start working out more. So far it’s going ok. Thanks for sharing this :)

  13. Putting down the donut….

    Visiting from #CommentHour!

  14. oh wow, what a great story! go her!

    stopping by from the #commenthour-way late, lol!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

